How To Measure Our Love For God?

I see a lot of photos in my News Feed saying “If you love Jesus, like and share this…” . I’m not writing this article to trip you off because of that, but my question is: By sharing those photos, does it really measure our love for God?

To answer that, I’d like to share this verse to you:

To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.

–  John 8:31

To answer that question, I shared that verse because what I’m trying to point out is: Do we do what Jesus commanded in us like loving our enemies, not worrying about tomorrow, etc? And also, to balance this, when we accepted Christ in our lives, His grace will pour out in us; that grace will enable us to do His commands, and not by our own might nor power (Zechariah 4:6).

We loving God is just the effect of His unfailing love for us, by sending His son, Jesus, to save us from the world’s greatest problem–SIN, by dying on the cross. Besides, we didn’t deserve that love because of our sin. Actually, we deserve punishment, in other words, HELL.

As long as you already have Jesus Christ in your life, that’s enough. It is not necessary to share those photos. What we can do now to express our love for God is by reading His Word, “not for God to love us more, but for us to love God more.” (Robert Gonzales, IGNITE 2011).

About Kevin Reyes

Once a piece of thrash that was always being ridiculed, getting fooled, always getting bullied. But when God found me on that condition, he gave me a new life, a new direction, a new purpose. And I'd like to share my walk and my testimonies to all of you so that you might experience also God's love.

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Discipleship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

