Love One Another

For me, one of the hardest commandment of Jesus is this:

“A new command I give you: Love one another.”

– John 13:34

Why is this so hard? Because there is a natural tendency in us that if other people showed us good things, we preferred to love them. But what about those people who offended us? Most of the time, we intend to choose to despise them. In my life, there’s a lot of people who had offended me: Those people who bullied me, my family, my friends, and my co-leaders.

Hey, we need to love one another as what Jesus commanded to us. But hey, how can we love one another?

According to Ptr. Robert Gonzales, here are the steps how to love one another:

  • Get rid from all of your personal preferences. We are all have different personalities and trips in life. Sometimes, we want to love the people that fits in our “criteria”: Dapat ganito ka, ganyan ka, di dapat ganito, etc. But we need to get rid of those.
  • Know their needs. We must share the Gospel to the lost. But first, we must know their needs. How can we love and other people love us if we do not fulfill their needs?

All of those steps fall into this:

Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

– John 13:43

Maybe you’re asking: How God loved us? Well, the answer is this:

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

– Romans 5:8

God didn’t say, “At dahil makasalanan ka, bahala ka sa buhay mo!” God loved us because of who we are. We should love one another, regardless of the past. We need to love because God first loved us. (1 John 4:19)

About Kevin Reyes

Once a piece of thrash that was always being ridiculed, getting fooled, always getting bullied. But when God found me on that condition, he gave me a new life, a new direction, a new purpose. And I'd like to share my walk and my testimonies to all of you so that you might experience also God's love.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Discipleship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey Kevin,,, I really admire the way you express yourself and of course the way you relay your mind through your posts!

    Bro, I encourage you to continue this very simple act of appreciation of God’s goodness in your life. I was honestly touched when I read your latest post because I didn’t even think that you, a very simple guy, have great thoughts like these.

    God bless you bro. Continue inspiring people!

Leave a Reply

