The Hardest Commandment

But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,

– Matthew 5:44

There are so many commands in the Bible that God wants us to do. But for me, the hardest commandment in the Bible was written in Matthew 5:44 and Luke 6:27: LOVING YOUR ENEMIES.

Come on, let’s admit it, it’s very, very hard to take hold to this Scripture. Especially when you’ve been hurt by your enemies. You already know my story, when the times that I was always being bullied during my elementary and high school days. First, all I want is to have revenge to those bullies, and even came to the point that I want to kill them once and for all. But everything was changed when God showed me His sufferings, and how He loves us even though we are sinners: An enemy of God.

It takes a lot of revelations for us to understand and appreciate this command that Jesus gave to us. But God will give us grace for us to love our enemies.

How can we love our enemies? Let’s make it simple: Forgiving them and pray for them. Don’t make it so complicated. Set yourself free from the bandages of unforgiveness! Just remember what Jesus Christ did, He still chose to love us despite of our sins.

Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.

– Luke 6:36

About Kevin Reyes

Once a piece of thrash that was always being ridiculed, getting fooled, always getting bullied. But when God found me on that condition, he gave me a new life, a new direction, a new purpose. And I'd like to share my walk and my testimonies to all of you so that you might experience also God's love.

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Discipleship. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

