The Fear of "Sharing"

One of the essence of church is SHARED LIVES because there are people who will help and pray for you whatever your situations are. That’s why we have our Victory/LIFE groups to help and to pray one another. However, there are people also who don’t want to share their lives.

I remember the series “Church is Boring” last year and on the first installment entitled “Authentic Community”, Victory Pioneer’s Senior Pastor Robert Hern, Jr. explained why people don’t want to have shared lives. And here’s some of those (It includes my own perspective):

  • “I can do it on my own” – They were also called “Rambo” Christians. Some people thinks that whatever their problems or struggles, they can overcome it without the help of others.
  • “I don’t need help” – It has similarities with “I can do it on my own” attitude. But, these people are the ones who has an issue of PRIDE.
  • People will know it – Some people feared to share their lives because they think that if they share their life, people will know their situations and sins – that’s what they feared about.
  • “Baka ikalat nila” – This is my own perspective why some people don’t want shared lives. And for me, this is the number one reason because if they share their lives to other, people will absolutely know it and some of them are going to spread it to others. In short: BAKA I-CHISMIS at kung mangyari yun ay baka masira ang kanilang reputasyon.

As what I’ve said, sharing your lives is essential because there are people who will help, encourage, and pray for you. We leaders are the one who will help, encourage, and pray for you also in your life.

If you will not going to share your lives, who will going to help, encourage, and pray for you? Who will help you if you are already drowned by your sins?

“Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”

– Galatians 6:2

 

About Kevin Reyes

Once a piece of thrash that was always being ridiculed, getting fooled, always getting bullied. But when God found me on that condition, he gave me a new life, a new direction, a new purpose. And I'd like to share my walk and my testimonies to all of you so that you might experience also God's love.

Posted on March 2, 2011, in Discipleship, Encouragements, Youth Oriented. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

